Cricket was introduced to India by European merchant sailors in the 18th century. The first cricket club in India was established in Calcutta in the year 1792. The first test played by the country on 25th June 1932 at Lord’s England and become the sixth nation to be granted Test Cricket status. During the initial years, the India was one of the weaker teams winning only 35 of the first 196 test matches and had to wait from 1932 to 1952 almost 20 years for its first test victory. The team India has emerged a tough contender in 1970 with the emergence of players such as Sunil Gavaskar, Bishen Singh Bedi, Kapil Dev, Erapalli Prasanna, Bhagwat Chandrasekhar and many more. Team India is one of the best teams in the world due to some of the best players in the world like Sachin Tendulkar, MS Dhoni, Virat Kohli, Rohit Sharma, Saurav Ganguly who had India proud in all formats of cricket.

The Indian National Cricket Team is governed by the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI). It is a member of the International Cricket Council (ICC) with Test, One day and T20 International status. It is now one of the most popular sports in India played almost throughout the country. There are various domestic as well as international competitions which are played throughout the year to select the best players for the country. Ranji Trophy, Vijay Hazare Trophy, Deodhar Trophy, Irani Trophy, NKP Salve Challenger Trophy, Indian Premier League etc are few among them which are equally awaited by the players as well as the spectators.

In women’s cricket, India made its debut in 1976 against West Indies and its one-day international debut at 1978 World Cup which is hosted by it as well. The women’s Indian cricket team has made world cup final on two occasions first in 2005 which they lost from Australia by 98 runs and in 2017 which they lost to England by 9 runs in 2017. A lot of improvement and work is to be done in Women Cricket as more and more women in the country are now following this game.

IPL Teams List 2023

Some of the Achievements of Indian Cricket team

India won World Cup in 1983
India wins Asia Cup 5 times
India won Benson and Hedges Cup in 1985
India won Hero Cup in 1993
India won the Coca-Cola Cup Sharjah in 1998
India won the Border Gavaskar Trophy in 2001
India won NatWest Trophy in 2002
India was joint winner of ICC Champions Trophy in 2002
India won ICC T20 in 2007
India achieved Number-One in ICC test ranking in 2009
India Won World Cup in 2011
India Won Champions Trophy in 2013

India vs Australia, ODI Schedule 2020