PM Awas Yojana

India scheme

Every individual wants a home to be comfortable. Also, to have a home is a sign of economic and social security status in society. Owning a home gives a person an identity and helps him become part of the society. Many people who live in the backward areas of India do not have pucca houses; they reside in dilapidated houses.

To provide these people with a decent house, the Union Government of India approved and revamped the Indira Awas Yojana to Pradhan Mantri Awaas Yojana – Gramin in March 2016.

With the launch of the PM Awas Yojana – Gramin (PMAY-G), the Union Government of India is working towards providing affordable housing for all citizens of India by the year 2022. The PMAY-G scheme was introduced to make housing affordable and accessible to all.

The beneficiaries of the PM Awas Yojana scheme can obtain financial help for constructing pucca houses. This scheme will cover all rural areas of India, except Delhi and Chandigarh. The Central and State governments of India will share the cost of the houses.

PM Awas Yojana



To help people who are residing in dilapidated houses in rural districts to build pucca houses by the year 2022.

Additional Details and Benefits

  • The Central and State Governments will share the cost of unit assistance in the ratio 60:40 in plain areas and 90:10 in the case of North-Eastern and hilly regions.
  • The beneficiaries can avail unit assistance up to Rs 1,20,000 in plain areas and Rs 1,30,000 in hilly terrain.
  • At present, hilly areas constitute states such as Uttarakhand, Himachal Pradesh, and the North-Eastern states. In addition, the union territory of Jammu and Kashmir and all 82 LWE districts come under difficult areas. The size of each unit is 25 square meters that includes a designated area for hygienic cooking.
  • The beneficiaries are eligible for 90 days of unskilled labor under the MGNREGA scheme.
  • The beneficiaries can apply for a loan of up to Rs 70,000 for constructing houses.
  • The government will transfer the funds via electronic means directly to the bank account of the beneficiaries. 

Eligibility Norms

The authorities will rely on data from the Socio-Economic and Caste Census to identify the beneficiaries of the PMAY scheme, including:

  • Any person belonging to the scheduled castes and scheduled tribes category
  • Non-SC and ST community members and minority groups under BPL
  • Released bonded laborers
  • The widows and kin of paramilitary force officers and individuals who have been killed while on duty, ex-servicemen, and retired soldiers

What is the process for selecting beneficiaries?

  • Beneficiaries who are eligible for assistance will be identified and prioritized from the Socio-Economic and Caste Census (SECC) to ensure transparency.
  • The Gram Sabha will be consulted to identify beneficiaries who have obtained help before or are ineligible due to various reasons now.
  • The final list will be released. In consultation with the Gram Sabha and via participatory process, the annual list of beneficiaries will be sifted out from the total list.
  • Gram Sabha will have to give reasons for altering the priority in the original list.

PM Awas Yojana online apply